For a magnificent seventh year on the trot Manly Warringah Touch Football Association has been announced regional and state winner of the NSW Touch Football Affiliate of the Year.

A stoked President Ian Kalms said it was “very exciting”.

“We love winning this prestigious award.

“It’s great recognition for the hard work of our volunteer committee,” Kalms said.

Three MWTA volunteers – Craig Lowe, Kate Perrett and Elizabeth Forrest – were recognised with NSW Touch Association Blues Awards which recognise outstanding achievements and contributions.

NSW Touch Football’s coach of the year, Christian Browne. Pic:

The trophy haul continued with MWTA’s Women’s Premier League team named Team of the Year, Hannah Dyball winning Female Player of the Year and the Smith Award for best-and-fairest in Vawdown Cup, and Christian Browne awarded Coach of the Year.

From little things (above) big things (below) grow. Pic: NSW Touch.

For the second year NSWTA was unable to hold the awards in their usual gala dinner setting.

Instead winners were announced online during a live-stream hosted by SEN 1170 presenter and Touch Football’s favourite Joel “Sugar” Caine and NSW Touch General Manager Dean Russell.

Kalms said he was most proud of enabling 375 junior teams of over 3500 children to play touch footy, working within COVID-19 restrictions, every Friday evening at Nolans Reserve in North Manly.

On a larger scale Kalms said he is more than happy to help other touch football associations reach the bench mark for touch footy set by Manly.

“I am one hundred per cent keen to share insights into what we do.

“I’m very happy to help anyone to make other touch football associations bigger and stronger,” Kalms said.

Get in touch (pun intended) with Manly Touch at